First of 2015

Today I listened to my first album released in 2015; “Matador” by Gaz Coombes.

I bought this after hearing some of the tracks on Spotify in one of their new music playlists. I have previously bought the single “One of These Days” by Gaz Coombes (actually titled Gaz Coombes Presents) so was already aware of his solo material. This track was particularly a house favourite at home.

For those that don’t know Gaz Coombes is the lead singer of Supergrass whom I have already posted an entry. I’ve always thought of Supergrass as the modern day equivalent of Madness. Three cheeky chaps that make friendly happy tunes.

However this solo work is very different. It has a real maturity and depth to the tracks compared to that earlier material. The track “Detroit” is my favourite on the album but there are plenty of other good ones. His vocals on a couple of the tracks are very similar to Thom Yorke; both come from Oxford so maybe it’s a local thing !!!

It is fair to say it is my favourite of the album so far this year; of course it is actually the only album from this year so far………but I think it will stay near the top of my list as the year progresses.

Leave a comment